WarMama
World of Warcraft from a Wannabe MultiRole Druid

Casually Gearing Up

Until winter break comes, I don’t have a lot of time to play. Running instances late at night is a possibility but usually by the evening I’m too pooped to pop into a run. What’s a gear mama to do?

Quest baby! That’s the solution I’ve come up with. With research and frequent check ins at the AH I’ve managed to pull together what I think is a reasonable tank set for someone who isn’t playing a lot. If you’ve got suggestions on non-instance improvements, PULEEZE, let me know.

tankfit.jpg

(Did that take too long to load?) For those of you who are still looking to ding 70 there are several good links in the sidebar (under ‘need to know’ ) that I used before 70. Still using ’em, actually.

As someone who often groups as a bear tank a really informative starting point for me was a Big Bear Butt post (don’t you love that name) on Druid Tank Starter Gear at 70. I was able to pick up some of the pieces mentioned in that article very quickly via quest or ah:

Heavy Clefthoof Boots was a quck find in the ah for 20g that day on Shattered Hand. Ain’t they purty? I really needed the Defense that’s on these since my D is only at 362. I’ve got two gems in ’em that give +4 Defense & +6 Stamina each. Not great but a start. I really haven’t researched gems at all yet, so suggestions (hint, hint) are welcome.

clefthoof-boots.jpg

Manimal’s Cinch is ridiculously easy to get via the middle of a quest chain that starts in Shadowmoon Valley.

manimals.jpg

More to come but I want to go play instead of type! I’ll keep adding to it in the next few days. Hope you’re having a great weekend!

8 Responses to “Casually Gearing Up”

  1. My main feral druid is almost using the complete “BBB” starter gear tank set. Think she’s missing only one of those annoying rewards from a huge chain that somewhere in the middle of it requires a 5 man group… But I haven’t played her in a bit, so I really can’t say.

    Two words of advice (or rather, two sentences!):
    1) That starter gear is AWESOME! I could see my stats change a LOT and it’s even a passable set of gear for cat mode soloing! I only have a couple itens I switch on when in cat form!

    2) Don’t go for Blue gems! Green gems usually have only slightly less interesting stats but for a HUGE difference in cost!

  2. Thanks for the advice, I mean sentences! =) I’m still using some stuff that isn’t on the list that I really like, Jerkin of the Untamed Spirit being my favorite. I got it from a 2-person quest in HP when I got to Outlands at level 58. How do I spell SWeeeEET!

  3. Someone, glad you mentioned not having to switch gear much to go kitty. I thought I must be missing something cause same, don’t swap out much to do good dps.

  4. One of the best cloaks you can get is Cloak Of The Valiant Defender out of a quest line in Netherstorm. I solo’d it as full feral and its fun to have 68-69 non druids asking in awe if you really can solo the elites you need to kill 🙂 another great piece of gear is the Umberhowl’s Collar from Shadowmoon. Someone was right when they said to stick with green gems much cheaper and when you finally hit the +D you need you really want to be able to slap some nice agi/stam gems and not cringe with the thought of all the money you just spent (i know i cried a little when i had to). also the Verdant Gloves out of a rather long quest chain in Shadowmoon are hard to replace for a long time. i hope this helps.
    Wolf

  5. Hey Wolf! Thanks for stopping by. I haven’t managed to finish either of those quests yet…but I’m working on it! You and Someone mention gems and money but no names ;p Any recommendations?

  6. well i hope you dont mind the late response ive had a dead computer but now the sob story is over… The best gems that ive found personal are the http://www.wowhead.com/?item=23100 (Glinting Flame Spessarite +3hit and +3agi) and both http://www.wowhead.com/?item=23110 (Shifting Shadow Draenite +3agi +4stam) and http://www.wowhead.com/?item=23111 (Sovereign Shadow Draenite +3str +4stam) the gems on my server go for about anywhere from 35s (on great days) to 1g75s (the highest ive seen) i always like going for balance when it comes to gems so i stay away from the +12stam gems but if you need the stam go for it. You can also if you really need it go for the +6d gemshttp://www.wowhead.com/?item=23115 (THick Golden Draenite) but as long as you have decent gear and SoF you really shouldnt need the +dgems to hit uncritable. btw all the gems ive listed can be used for both kitty and bear but if you are looking for pure kitty gems im in love with the pure +6 agi and +6str gems but you could also go for http://www.wowhead.com/?item=23115 (balanced Shadow Draenite) which is +6ap and +4stam i loged out in my soso kitty gear if you want to check it outhttp://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Lightninghoof&n=Wolfwarrior while im not saying its the greatest set the gems are pretty decent and other than the 3 pieces of kara gear and the LW gear the rest is pretty easy to get.

  7. wOOt! Thanks Wolf. You be late anytime! Great info, hope you don’t mind if I repost it for everyone to see.

  8. […] these people DO exist and they often leave tidbits in my comments which I get to share. From Casually Gearing Up, a gem from […]


Leave a Reply

